by Jose Anotinio A. Conde

The National Champions

Tar Heel pride baby! UNC Tar Heels won its 5th National Championship over MSU Spartans in Ford Field in Detroit, Michigan last Monday evening (Tuesday morning on Phil. time), with the score of 89-72, in favor of UNC.

UNC had a glorious championship season this year. Prior to the start of the season, they were already chosen as the predicted champions, due to intact and powerful line-up led by Tyler Hansbrough, Wayne Ellington, Ty Laswson, and Danny Green. And from start to finish, they have proven to be on top, having a 34-4 record, only to lose to ACC rivals Maryland, Wake Forest, Boston College, and Florida State. This was their last championship since 2005, which had Sean May, Marvin Williams, David Noel, Rashad McCants, and Raymond Felton.

MSU, on the other hand, were actually a suprise of the tournament. Led by Goran Suton and Kailin Lucas, they have upsetted tougher teams like Louisville and UConn. Tom Izzo was shocked at their unexpected performance, but they came short to the championship. If they already won this, then this would be their 3rd NCAA crown.

As the game goes by, a record-breaking all-time crowd of 72, 922 was held at the Ford Field, with the attendance of some NBA legends like Larry Bird, Magic Johnson, Michael Jordan, John Stockton, and David Robinson. By the way, Bird and Magic were at the center court prior to the game for the gameball toss. Both Johnson and Bird celebrated their 30th anniversary NCAA championship match, which featured Indiana State (Bird’s alma mgater) and Michigan State (Magic’s alma mater), wherein the Spartans won the crown.

The game was entirely an UNC show, as MSU cannot trail them in both periods. Most of the UNC players contributed a lot,  as Coach Tom Izzo of the MSU Spartans cannot make a solution to UNC’s run. He tried everything, but he came short. The game would even had 10+ leads, held by UNC. By the way, UNC made an all-time record by scoring 55 points in the 1st Half.

The best player of the game was Ty Lawson, scoring 21 pts.,  4 rebs., and 6 asts., while Wayne Ellington won the Most Outstanding Player.

By the way, I have to share you something, from YouTube, here’s the 2009 edition of the One Shining Moment, sang by Luther Vandross, a tradition used since 1987. Condolences to Mr. Doug Towey , the man behind the video.

  1. June 20th, 2009

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: