Archive for October, 2009





As the 2nd Round of UAAP ends and Final Four action beginning, this season’s leading scorer Dylan Ababou of UST won the 2009 UAAP Most Valuable Player Award. He defeated the likes of reigning MVP Rabeh Al-Hussaini of Ateneo and Alderich Ramos of FEU.

Ababou, now playing for his last year, was a vital cog for the 2006 UST championship squad along with Jervy Cruz and Jojo Duncil. He first played with the Tigers in 2005, but incidentally, he came in 2003 as a Team B player, and was actually the last current (and only) UST player to be recruited by Coach Aric del Rosario, who resigned that same year. In the PBL, he played for Harbour Centre and Magnolia. After UAAP, he is about to play for the Smart Gilas team under Coach Rajko Toroman.




THE Ateneo Blue Eagles won their fifth UAAP title as they clawed the UE Red Warriors out in the third game of the UAAP finals, with the final score of 71-58 at the Araneta Coliseum. Finals MVP Rabeh Al-Hussaini scored points just to help them remain the UAAP title to Loyola. He won the Finals MVP.

Halikinu! Ateneo has done it again! Yesterday, history repeated itself as Ateneo Blue Eagles This is Ateneo’s second consecutive title, and second run of repeating titles, as they also did this during the 1987 and 1988 seasons. Jai Reyes and Eric Salamat also contributed a lot as Ateneo made a big run over UE despite UE starting the game early hot in shooting. Al-Hussaini, Baclao, and Reyes, who are having their final game as Eagles in the UAAP made their best as Al-Hussaini even made a slam-dunk which was a very rare move for him.

With a crowd of 18,851, which is the biggest in this season, a few people also attended. The UE side had former players Robert Jaworski, Paul Artadi, and James Yap and RP Vice Pres. Noli de Castro. While on the Loyola side, Ateneo had former players JC Intal, Chris Tiu, Doug Kramer, and broadcaster Paolo Bediones.

Champion coach Norman Black felt very happy for his boys, and he even insisted that they did their best, as he just used his experience to win the title. He had his worst game prior to this, wherein they were defeated by UE. On the other side, rookie coach Lawrence Chongson felt upset, but somehow he thanked his team for extending the series.

As for the series overview, Ateneo won the first game, 78-71 but UE bounced back via a 88-68 win.

Congratulations to Ateneo and One Big Fight!

UAAP UPDATE: Ateneo’s junor team, the AHS Eaglets won their second consecutive title earlier by defeating the DLSZ Jr. Archers, 61-57, thanks to the two crucial assists of Kiefer Ravena. This is AHS’ 7th title (and the 18th title overall) with Jamike Jarin, who is at the AHS bench for 10 years.

ADMU 71 – R. Al Hussaini 21, J. Reyes 16, R. Buenafe 10, S. Baclao 8, E. Salamat 7, K. Long 7, N. Salva 2, E. Monfort 0, R. Austria 0.

UE 58 – Lee 21, E. Espiritu 16, V. Acuña 8, Lingganay 5, P. Zamar 3, P. Llagas 3, Flores 2, R. Reyes 0, Duran 0, Ayala 0.


by JA Conde




ni JA Conde

Makalipas ng 11 taon at 5 na kampeonato, nag-resign na si Franz Pumaren bilang head coach ng DLSU Green Archers sa UAAP. Siya ay nag-resign dahil sa kanyang buhay bilang pulitiko na kung saan siya ay may balak na tumakbo sa kongreso ng District 3 sa Quezon City sa susunod na halalan sa 2010. Sa kanyang huling season bilang coach ng nasabing iskwelahan, hindi niya ipinasok ang Green Archers sa Final Four makalipas ng 15 na taon.

Pumaren, 46, sa ngayon ay isang konsehal sa nasabing distrito na kung saan tatlo na ang termino niya. Siya ay naglaro bilang point guard sa San Miguel at Mobiline sa PBA magmula 1986 hanggang 1997. Pagkatapos matalo sa Kongreso noong 1998, siya ay naging  coach ng La Salle noong taong ding yun, at nagkaroon pa ng 4 na sunud-sunod na kampeonato sa UAAP magmula 1998 hanggang 2001. Tinulungan niya ang mga career nina Don Allado, Ren-ren Ritualo. Mark Cardona, Joseph Yeo, JV Casio, at Rico Mairehofer.

Sa ngayon, ayon sa mga tsismis, ang kanyang nakakabatang kapatid na si Dindo ang papalit sa kanya..

UAAP UPDATE: Sinibak bilang coach ng NU si Manny Dandan makalipas ng 9 na taon na pamamahala sa NU. Ayon sa mga tsismis, isang National coach ang papalit sa kanya. Naging coach siya ng NU noong 1998 (pinalitan niya si Sonny Paguia) at binigyan niya ng isang Final 4 na appearance ang NU noong 2001 bago siya palitan ni Rico Perez nang sumunod na taon. Bumalik na lang siya noong 2005.


It has been over a month since not appearing here. Blame the technical problems and the Typhoon happening today. Watch out for my next articles on UAAP.

So keep on track guys!