THE Ateneo Blue Eagles won their fifth UAAP title as they clawed the UE Red Warriors out in the third game of the UAAP finals, with the final score of 71-58 at the Araneta Coliseum. Finals MVP Rabeh Al-Hussaini scored points just to help them remain the UAAP title to Loyola. He won the Finals MVP.

Halikinu! Ateneo has done it again! Yesterday, history repeated itself as Ateneo Blue Eagles This is Ateneo’s second consecutive title, and second run of repeating titles, as they also did this during the 1987 and 1988 seasons. Jai Reyes and Eric Salamat also contributed a lot as Ateneo made a big run over UE despite UE starting the game early hot in shooting. Al-Hussaini, Baclao, and Reyes, who are having their final game as Eagles in the UAAP made their best as Al-Hussaini even made a slam-dunk which was a very rare move for him.

With a crowd of 18,851, which is the biggest in this season, a few people also attended. The UE side had former players Robert Jaworski, Paul Artadi, and James Yap and RP Vice Pres. Noli de Castro. While on the Loyola side, Ateneo had former players JC Intal, Chris Tiu, Doug Kramer, and broadcaster Paolo Bediones.

Champion coach Norman Black felt very happy for his boys, and he even insisted that they did their best, as he just used his experience to win the title. He had his worst game prior to this, wherein they were defeated by UE. On the other side, rookie coach Lawrence Chongson felt upset, but somehow he thanked his team for extending the series.

As for the series overview, Ateneo won the first game, 78-71 but UE bounced back via a 88-68 win.

Congratulations to Ateneo and One Big Fight!

UAAP UPDATE: Ateneo’s junor team, the AHS Eaglets won their second consecutive title earlier by defeating the DLSZ Jr. Archers, 61-57, thanks to the two crucial assists of Kiefer Ravena. This is AHS’ 7th title (and the 18th title overall) with Jamike Jarin, who is at the AHS bench for 10 years.

ADMU 71 – R. Al Hussaini 21, J. Reyes 16, R. Buenafe 10, S. Baclao 8, E. Salamat 7, K. Long 7, N. Salva 2, E. Monfort 0, R. Austria 0.

UE 58 – Lee 21, E. Espiritu 16, V. Acuña 8, Lingganay 5, P. Zamar 3, P. Llagas 3, Flores 2, R. Reyes 0, Duran 0, Ayala 0.


by JA Conde

  1. Created on Oct. 9, then bonfire the next day

    ADD. INFO.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: