For three straight years, Ateneo Blue Eagles has been wanting to get back this PCCL title as they recently knocked out the FEU Tamaraws, with the score of 70-74 moments ago at the Ynares Sports Arena.

Ateneo started the game like they’re about to win it, as they even led the game by 16 pts., but FEU bounced back as they even led the game by 3 midway in the final period, but the crucial plays of Jai Reyes and Oping Sumalinog made them return to competitiveness as they proved that they’re the best collegiate team in the Philippines. Apparently, in one part of the game, Reil Cervantes of FEU kicked the ball after recieving a turnover, as he was fouled out of the game after.

This is Ateneo’s third PCCL finals appearance, as they won the 2007 and 2009 crowns respectively, only to lose in 2008 to La Salle led by JV Casio.

And as for the annual awards, here’s the complete list:
Referee of the Year: Gamboa of PBL
Coach of the Year: Norman Black, Ateneo
Mythical 5:
Alderich Ramos and RR Garcia, FEU
Eric Salamat and Jai Reyes, ADMU
and Bambam Gamalinda of SBC

Most Valuable Player: Jai Reyes, ADMU

Congrats ADMU!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: