Posts Tagged ‘ UAAP Basketball ’




by JA Conde

Drive for Five? Finally over! The Ateneo de Manila Blue Eagles has just clinched their fifth straight UAAP basketball title, knocking out the University of Santo Tomas Growling Tigers with a score of 65-62 at the Smart Araneta Coliseum in Quezon City, about six hours ago.

Senior baller Nico Salva clinched the Finals MVP honors with eight points. He now happens to be one of the few ballers who have won all championships in all of his eligibility years. On the other hand, Jeric Fortuna led UST with 20 markings. The fifth straight championship is the last one for Norman Black, who’ll now return to where he truly belongs—- PBA sidelines via the Talk ‘N Text Tropang Texters by October 18 vs. Air21 (ironically coached by former UAAP rival mentor/protege Franz Pumaren). Overall, this is the 8th UAAP championship for Ateneo. The previous years of their champhonship were the seasons of 1987, 1988, 2002, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, and of course, 2012.

As with the future of Ateneo basketball, the year 2013 would probably be a challenging one for the school per se. With the sudden departure of Manuel V. Pangilinan (who moved to UP), someone has to step up for the program. However, Paolo Trillo and his company would rather focus on celebrating their title first. That said, let’s congratulate the entire Ateneo movement then!

For recap articles on Ateneo’s past championships that I had covered, here are your links:

And for Bonfire schedule: (Courtesy of GMA News)



by JA Conde

How sweet it is! The Ateneo Blue Eagles have swept the FEU Tamaraws in a close game, via a 65-62 win last Thursday at the Araneta Coliseum in Quezon City. This is the Eagles’ third consecutive title in a matter of three years, 2008, 2009, and 2010.

Finals MVP Ryan Buenafe scored a game-winning basket in the final seconds as he proved that yes, he was not in shape, but despite this, he can also deliver a game since he hasn’t been doing this in almost a year. The last time Ateneo avened a three-peat was from 1931 to 1933, although there were several attempts of acheiving it again, especially during the years of 1955, 1959, 1970, 1977, and 1989. The Eagles are the first team to achieve a three-peat in both UAAP and NCAA.

Expect a stronger Ateneo squad next year as new rookies will appear from Kiefer Ravena to Gwyne Capacio to Mark Tallo and to Greg Slaughter. And expect them copping a “4-peat”, a peat once did by DLSU and UST in the 90’s. Congrats!  


ADMU 65 – R. Buenafe 23, E. Monfort 10, S. Salva 9,K.  Long 7, J. Chua 7, E. Salamat 3, F. Golla 3, J. Escueta 2, R. Austria 1, JP Erram 0, T. Gonzaga 0,C.  deChavez 0
FEU 62 – N. Cervantes 15, P. Sanga 13, A. Ramos 9, JR Cawaling 8, P. Noundou 6, RR Garcia 6, T. Romeo 2, Exciminiano 2, A. Bringas 1, Cruz 0, Guerrero 0