Archive for August, 2009


Here are the players who are about to participate in the NBA Asia Challenge which will happen on September 11 at the Big Dome:
1. Kenneth Duremdes
2. Alvin Patrimonio
3. Ronnie Magsanoc
4. Allan Caidic
5. Benjie Paras
6. Wynne Arboleda
7. Japeth Aguilar
8. Arwind Santos
9. Don-don Hontiveros
10. Jay-R Reyes
11. Marc Pingris
12. Enrico Villanueva
13. Joseph Yeo
14. Willie Miller
15. Sonny Thoss
Coach: Yeng Guiao

1. Vlade Divac
2. Tim Hardaway
3. Vlade Divac
4. Robert Horry
5. Dominique Wilkins
6. Billy Thomas
7. Derrick Dial
8. Chris Ellis
9. Marcus Hubbard
10. Russell Robinson
11. Lanny Smith

Coach: Kareem Abdul-Jabbar

As for the tickets, they’re now on sale at all Ticketnet outlets. The ticket prices are the ff:

– P264 for general admission

– P792 for upper box B

– P1,320 for upper box A

– P2,112 for lower box

– P2,640 for patron (aka Bleachers).

And expect them to dominate some of the most popular malls in the Philippines!




Here’s the sked for the 2nd Round of 72nd UAAP Season:
August 13 – Araneta Coliseum
2 PM – Adamson vs La Salle
4 PM – Ateneo vs UE

August 15 – Araneta Coliseum
2 PM – UP vs NU
4 PM – FEU vs UST

August 16 – Araneta Coliseum
2 PM – UE vs Adamson
4 PM – La Salle vs Ateneo

August 20 – Filoil Flying V Arena
2 PM – NU vs FEU
4 PM – UST vs UP

August 22 – Araneta Coliseum
2 PM – Adamson vs NU
4 PM – FEU vs UE

August 23 – Araneta Coliseum
2 PM – UP vs La Salle
4 PM – Ateneo vs UST

August 27 – Filoil Flying V Arena
2 PM – UE vs UP
4 PM – Adamson vs FEU

August 29 – Filoil Flying V Arena
2 PM – UST vs NU
4 PM – La Salle vs UE

August 30 – Filoil Flying V Arena
2 PM – UP vs FEU
4 PM – Ateneo vs Adamson

September 3 – Araneta Coliseum
2 PM – NU vs Ateneo
4 PM – La Salle vs UST

September 5 – Araneta Coliseum
2 PM – UE vs NU
4 PM – FEU vs La Salle

September 6 – Filoil Flying V Arena
2 PM – Ateneo vs UP
4 PM – UST vs Adamson

September 10 – Filoil Flying V Arena
2 PM – La Salle vs NU
4 PM – UE vs UST

September 12 – Araneta Coliseum
2 PM – Adamson vs UP
4 PM – Ateneo vs FEU

September 13 – Araneta Coliseum
2 PM – Cheerdance Competition

So there.


Possible. By September 11, a dream match is about to begin in the Araneta Coliseum, organized by Carlo Singson’s NBA Asia, a selection of NBA legends and PBA legends/current players are about to play in one stage. And here are the players who are about to participate:
* Tim Hardaway
* Robert Horry
* Kareem Abdul-Jabbar (His third time in the Phils., first was in the 70’s and second was in 1995)
* Dominique Wilkins
* Alvin Patrimonio
* Benjie Paras

See you there! This must be an exciting one.


National player Japeth Aguilar tops all PBA rookies when he was drafted by the Burger King Whoppers yesterday at the Market!Market! at Taguig.

Aguilar is an excellent post player who played for Ateneo and WKU throughout his college career. He was also known for his partnership days with Michael Galinato at Mapua High.

More than a thousand people graced the 2009 PBA Annual Draft with an opening number by EB Babes of Eat Bulaga! fame and a rendition of the National Anthem led by singer/actor Makisig Morales.

On the other hand, Commissioner Renauld Barrios made a fruitful welcome remarks wherein he advised the players to be humble and be very approachable to fans. He even paid tribute to former RP pres. Cory Aquino by giving her a big round of applause. And so as the draft started, here’s the complete list of rookies who are drafted (in order):

1. AGUILAR, Japeth (Ateneo/WKC, Burger King)
2. Pick originally by Shell, but already disbanded
3. MAIREHOFER, Rico (La Salle, Purefoods)
4. ROSS, Chris (Marshall, Burger King, traded to Coke for Ronjay Buenafe)
5. CRUZ, Jervy (UST, Rain or Shine)
6. BURCHER, Michael (Alaska)
7. MENOR, Rogemar (San Beda, Barako Bull)
8. TIMBERLAKE, Chris (Brgy. Ginebra)
9. MATIAS, Ronnie (Univ. of Manila, Burger King)
10. SENA, James Ryan (JRU, San Miguel Beer)

1. BENITEZ, Mark (La Salle, Sta. Lucia Realty)
12. FERNANDEZ, Benedict (FEU, Barako Bull)
13. ASORO, Edwin (NU, Barako Bull)
14. ALLERA, Franciz (UST, Coca-Cola, pick originally by Burger King)
15. ARELLANO, Marcy (UE, Rain or Shine)
16. CO, Sean (Mapua, Alaska Milk)
17. WALTERS, Lamont (Sta. Lucia)
18. DAROYA, Orlando (Arellano U, Brgy. Ginebra)
19. WHYTE, Kevin (Talk ‘n Text)

20. WALSHAM, PJ (DLSU, Coca-Cola)

NOTE: PBA season will start on Oct. 14.




And the world has shocked, the woman who saved the Philippines, former President Corazon Aquino has joined our creator in 3:18AM in the Makati Medical Center in Makati due to cardio-respiratory arrest. She was 76.

She was known by everyone as the one who made every Filipino happy again, and being democratic. Prior to that, she was just a normal housewife and the wife of popular democratic icon Ninoy Aquino. But after his husband died due to a gunshot, she began to show her braveness against the then-powerful Marcos family, but it was Cory who won the battle as she won the 1986 Time Magazine Woman of the Year (as what I have posted as her tribute image).

And she is a big loss to every Filipino.