Archive for October, 2010


by JA Conde (Photo by Joey Mendoza of

The San Beda Red Lions had defeated the defending champions San Sebastian Stags last Thursday at the Araneta Coliseum with a score of 70-85. This is their 18th title and first title with a season sweep of 18 and 0. Also, this title is served as their revenge to the 2009 loss, co-incidentally against the Stags. Sophomore Sudan Daniel surged for 24 points, 19 rebounds, and five blocks during the crucial game. The crowd in the arena was 16,083.

Meanwhile, the Stags, who was looking for their 15th title overall, lost the game, the worse thing was, their coach, Ato Agustin, will be moving to the pros to coach the legendary San Miguel Beermen in the PBA, the squad he used to play during the prime of his career. Ironically, the Stags was the last team to win the bacon via a clean sweep in 1994 , thanks to the efforts of slasher Rodney Santos.

In the NCAA Juniors, the Cubs also won over the Staglets with the score of 95-84. This have been ensured as a “double victory” for the San Beda College.



by JA Conde

How sweet it is! The Ateneo Blue Eagles have swept the FEU Tamaraws in a close game, via a 65-62 win last Thursday at the Araneta Coliseum in Quezon City. This is the Eagles’ third consecutive title in a matter of three years, 2008, 2009, and 2010.

Finals MVP Ryan Buenafe scored a game-winning basket in the final seconds as he proved that yes, he was not in shape, but despite this, he can also deliver a game since he hasn’t been doing this in almost a year. The last time Ateneo avened a three-peat was from 1931 to 1933, although there were several attempts of acheiving it again, especially during the years of 1955, 1959, 1970, 1977, and 1989. The Eagles are the first team to achieve a three-peat in both UAAP and NCAA.

Expect a stronger Ateneo squad next year as new rookies will appear from Kiefer Ravena to Gwyne Capacio to Mark Tallo and to Greg Slaughter. And expect them copping a “4-peat”, a peat once did by DLSU and UST in the 90’s. Congrats!  


ADMU 65 – R. Buenafe 23, E. Monfort 10, S. Salva 9,K.  Long 7, J. Chua 7, E. Salamat 3, F. Golla 3, J. Escueta 2, R. Austria 1, JP Erram 0, T. Gonzaga 0,C.  deChavez 0
FEU 62 – N. Cervantes 15, P. Sanga 13, A. Ramos 9, JR Cawaling 8, P. Noundou 6, RR Garcia 6, T. Romeo 2, Exciminiano 2, A. Bringas 1, Cruz 0, Guerrero 0